ICFP 2008 : The 13th ACM SIGPLAN International Conference on Functional Programming

Edinburgh, Scotland
31st August - 2nd September, 2009

The 14th ACM SIGPLAN International Conference on Functional Programming (ICFP 2009) will be held in Edinburgh, Scotland from 31st August - 2nd September 2009. ICFP provides a forum for researchers and developers to hear about the latest work on the design, implementations, principles, and uses of functional programming.

Proposals are invited for workshops to be affiliated with ICFP 2009 and sponsored by SIGPLAN. These workshops should be more informal and focused than ICFP itself, include sessions that enable interaction among the workshop attendees, and be fairly low cost. The preference is for one-day workshops, but other schedules can also be considered. The workshops themselves will be held between August 30th and September 5th, as capacity allows.

Submission details

Deadline for submission: 19th November 2008
Notification of acceptance: 17th December 2008

Prospective workshop organisers are invited to submit a completed workshop proposal form in plain text format to the ICFP 2009 workshop co-chairs (Chris Stone and Mike Sperber), via email to icfp09-workshops at by 19th November 2008. Please note that this is a firm deadline. Organisers will be notified if their proposal is accepted by 17th December 2008, and if successful are required to produce a final report after the workshop has taken place that is suitable for publication in SIGPLAN Notices. Further information about SIGPLAN sponsorship is available here.

Selection committee

The workshop proposals will be evaluated by a committee comprising the following members of the ICFP 2009 organising committee, together with the members of the SIGPLAN executive committee.

Chris Stone Harvey Mudd College Workshops co-chair
Mike Sperber DeinProgramm Workshops co-chair
Graham Hutton University of Nottingham General chair
Andrew Tolmach Portland State University Program chair

Further information

Any queries regarding ICFP 2008 workshop proposals should be addressed to the workshops co-chairs (Chris Stone and Mike Sperber), via email to icfp09-workshops at