Tokyo, Japan
September 19-21, 2011

Call for Papers

Important Dates

Titles, abstracts & keywords due: Thursday 17 March 2011 at 14:00 UTC
Submissions due: Thursday 24 March 2011 at 14:00 UTC
Author response: Tuesday & Wednesday 17-18 May
Notification: Monday 30 May 2011
Final copy due: Friday 01 July 2011
Conference: Monday-Wednesday 19-21 September 2011


ICFP 2011 seeks original papers on the art and science of functional programming. Submissions are invited on all topics from principles to practice, from foundations to features, and from abstraction to application. The scope includes all languages that encourage functional programming, including both purely applicative and imperative languages, as well as languages with objects, concurrency, or parallelism. Particular topics of interest include

  • Language Design: type systems; concurrency and distribution; modules; components and composition; metaprogramming; relations to imperative, object-oriented, or logic programming; interoperability
  • Implementation: abstract machines; virtual machines; interpretation; compilation; compile-time and run-time optimization; memory management; multi-threading; exploiting parallel hardware; interfaces to foreign functions, services, components, or low-level machine resources
  • Software-Development Techniques: algorithms and data structures; design patterns; specification; verification; validation; proof assistants; debugging; testing; tracing; profiling
  • Foundations: formal semantics; lambda calculus; rewriting; type theory; mathematical logic; monads; continuations; delimited continuations; global, delimited, or local effects
  • Transformation and Analysis: abstract interpretation; partial evaluation; program transformation; program calculation; program proofs; normalization by evaluation
  • Applications and Domain-Specific Languages: symbolic computing; formal-methods tools; artificial intelligence; systems programming; distributed-systems and web programming; hardware design; databases; XML processing; scientific and numerical computing; graphical user interfaces; multimedia programming; scripting; system administration; security; education
  • Functional Pearls: elegant, instructive, and fun essays on functional programming
  • Experience Reports: short papers that provide evidence that functional programming really works or describe obstacles that have kept it from working in a particular application

Instructions for authors

  • By 17 March 2011, 14:00 UTC, submit a title, an abstract of at most 300 words, and keywords.
  • By 24 March 2011, 14:00 UTC, submit a full paper of at most 12 pages (6 pages for a Functional Pearl and for an Experience Report), including bibliography and figures.

The deadlines will be strictly enforced and papers exceeding the page limits will be summarily rejected. However, if you are affected by the earthquake in Japan, we will accept your title and abstract until Monday 4 April at 23:59, and your submission until Thursday 7 April at 23:59.

  • Authors have the option to attach supplementary material to a submission, on the understanding that reviewers may choose not to look at it.
  • Each submission must adhere to SIGPLAN's republication policy, as explained on the web at

In addition, authors of resubmitted (but previously rejected) papers have the option to attach an annotated copy of the reviews of their previous submission(s), explaining how they have addressed these previous reviews in the present submission. If a reviewer identifies him/herself as a reviewer of this previous submission and wishes to see how his/her comments have been addressed, the program chair will communicate to this reviewer the annotated copy of his/her previous review. Otherwise, no rewiewer will read the annotated copies of the previous reviews.

Overall, a submission will be evaluated according to its relevance, correctness, significance, originality, and clarity. It should explain its contributions in both general and technical terms, clearly identifying what has been accomplished, explaining why it is significant, and comparing it with previous work. The technical content should be accessible to a broad audience. Functional Pearls and Experience Reports are separate categories of papers that need not report original research results and must be marked as such at the time of submission. Detailed guidelines on both categories are on the conference web site.

Proceedings will be published by ACM Press. Authors of accepted submissions are expected to transfer the copyright to the ACM. Presentations will be videotaped and released online if the presenter consents by signing an additional permission form at the time of the presentation.

Formatting: Submissions must be in PDF format printable in black and white on US Letter sized paper and interpretable by Ghostscript. If this requirement is a hardship, make contact with the program chair at least one week before the deadline. Papers must adhere to the standard ACM conference format: two columns, nine-point font on a ten-point baseline, with columns 20pc (3.33in) wide and 54pc (9in) tall, with a column gutter of 2pc (0.33in). A suitable document template for LaTeX is available from SIGPLAN at

Submission: Abstracts and submissions will be accepted electronically at Improved versions of a paper may be submitted at any point before the submission deadline using the same web interface.

Author response: Authors will have a 48-hour period, starting at 14:00 UTC on Tuesday 17 May 2010, to read reviews and respond to them.

Special Journal Issue: There will be a special issue of the Journal of Functional Programming with papers from ICFP 2011. The program committee will invite the authors of select accepted papers to submit a journal version to this issue.

Conference Chairs:

Manuel M T Chakravarty, University of New South Wales, Australia
Zhenjiang Hu, National Institute of Informatics (NII), Japan

Program Chair:

Olivier Danvy, Aarhus University, Denmark

Program Committee:

Kenichi Asai, Ochanomizu University, Japan
Josh Berdine, Microsoft Research, UK
Adam Chlipala, Harvard University, USA
William Cook, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Maribel Fernandez, King's College London, UK
Ronald Garcia, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Neal Glew, Intel Labs, USA
Jacques Garrigue, Nagoya University, Japan
Suresh Jagannathan, Purdue University, USA
Sam Lindley, University of Edinburgh, UK
Frank Pfenning, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Paola Quaglia, University of Trento, Italy
Alexis Saurin, University of Paris VII, France
Mike Spivey, Oxford University, UK
Kristian Stoevring, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Doaitse Swierstra, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
David Van Horn, Northeastern University, USA
Rene Vestergaard, JAIST, Japan
Edwin Westbrook, Rice University, USA