Tokyo, Japan
September 19-21, 2011

The 16th ACM SIGPLAN International Conference on Functional Programming (ICFP 2011) will be held in Tokyo, Japan on September 19-21, 2011. ICFP provides a forum for researchers and developers to hear about the latest work on the design, implementations, principles, and uses of functional programming.

Proposals are invited for workshops (and other co-located events, such as tutorials) to be affiliated with ICFP 2011 and sponsored by SIGPLAN. These events should be more informal and focused than ICFP itself, include sessions that enable interaction among the attendees, and be fairly low-cost. The preference is for one-day events, but other schedules can also be considered.

NEW THIS YEAR: The workshops are scheduled to occur on September 18 (the day before ICFP) and September 22-24 (the three days after ICFP).

Submission details

Deadline for submission: November 19, 2010
Notification of acceptance: December 17, 2010

Prospective organizers of workshops or other co-located events are invited to submit a completed workshop proposal form in plain text format to the ICFP 2011 workshop co-chairs (Gabriele Keller and Derek Dreyer), via email to icfp11-workshops at by November 19, 2010. (For proposals of co-located events other than workshops, please fill in the workshop proposal form and just leave blank any sections that do not apply.) Please note that this is a firm deadline.

Organizers will be notified if their event proposal is accepted by December 17, 2010, and if successful, depending on the event, they will be asked to produce a final report after the event has taken place that is suitable for publication in SIGPLAN Notices. Further information about SIGPLAN sponsorship is available here.

Selection committee

The proposals will be evaluated by a committee comprising the following members of the ICFP 2011 organizing committee, together with the members of the SIGPLAN executive committee.

Workshop Co-Chair: Gabriele Keller University of New South Wales
Workshop Co-Chair: Derek Dreyer MPI-SWS
General Co-Chair: Manuel Chakravarty University of New South Wales
General Co-Chair: Zhenjiang Hu National Institute of Informatics
Program Chair: Olivier Danvy Aarhus University

Further information

Any queries should be addressed to the workshop co-chairs (Gabriele Keller and Derek Dreyer), via email to icfp11-workshops at